Two APCs (almost) Working

live control with midi devices

Two APCs (almost) Working

Postby mikepmr » 23 March 2016, 03:43

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I've registered just to make it.
I'm rather new to lighting and Show Xpress. I own both an APC40 and APC20, and want to get them both working. I had no idea what I was getting into or that it would be so difficult to make this happen.

So, I followed the instructions on the post at the top of the page http://forum.thelightingcontroller.com/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=4169 to use Midi Pipe to do so. However, I ran into a problem with those instructions. The APCs are 8 channel controllers. Therefore, I set up the APC40 to use channels 1-8, and the APC20 to use channels 9-16.
The following screenshots are how I have it set up differently than in the above post:

This has SUCCESSFULLY given me independent INPUT from each controller to ShowXpress!

HOWEVER, I am getting NO LED output to either controller. I am fully aware on how to use the output features and using either controller on its own I can make it work just fine, but this has me stumped. I believe I logically routed everything how it should be with the APC20 (1 becomes 9 TO showxpress, and then 9 from showxpress becomes 1 again at the controller, etc) but no matter what shouldn't the APC40 be getting feedback since I haven't messed with those channels at all?

I hope this will shed some light on using multiple APCs as I have seen a few of you have had trouble with them. And I also hope someone can take what I've done here and find a way to get the output working correctly because at least, for me, without output, the controllers are useless.

If you need me to clarify anything I've done just ask!
Hopefully someone out there can help figure out the output issue.
Thanks!
mikepmr

Re: Two APCs (almost) Working

Postby AmpdEntmt » 29 March 2016, 19:59