Show Us Your MIDI Setup!

live control with midi devices

Show Us Your MIDI Setup!

Postby CHR1155 » 11 May 2015, 15:46

Hey guys!

I have been running a lightshow for a few months now using a launchpad and it is a god send, so much easier than clicking on/off with a mouse!

I'm interested in seeing other peoples setups to see if I can improve my own! My biggest problem I have is having so many buttons assigned for just the par cans (2 rows each for 2 sets of parcans) So if i can learn anything from you guys it would be awesome!

Cheers,
Chris

p.s Ill throw a picture of my setup soon!
CHR1155

Re: Show Us Your MIDI Setup!

Postby zkflow » 22 May 2015, 22:44

Concept using Korg NANOKONTROL 2 If you have questions about how i label this... (specially TST = Test Scene, moving heads in middle and white, for testing my patch :mrgreen: )
Attachments
MODE.jpg
MODE.jpg (136.18 KiB) Viewed 19533 times
zkflow

Postby dj spiff » 12 June 2015, 18:03

Hello, I think may have the same ideas in a lot of ways.

Here is my layout called "La Mujer". This relies on some special techniques. For ideas, You can download the show that I use with it here:

http://www.spiffsmpo.com/LightingDesign.html

Check out pixels if you download this show. I have included numerous pixels projects using pallets gleaned from http://www.colourlovers.com. Easily evident is my special technique for handling CMY fixtures to make them behave the same as the RGB fixtures.

The Software's use of MIDI is a truly incredible feature. Now with MIDI sends, I can trigger video software, lasers, or really anything from the live screen. Beautiful!

I used a Korg NanoKontrol for a few years experimenting. I miss the ability to set up the controller with the APC40. The Korg is very configurable. Play around with using "Flash" buttons in live with latching buttons on the controller. Careful though. It can get to where it's very hard to use without controller, and you know what happens if it gets unplugged...