Hands-Free Operation

post here general topics for software
neroroxxx

Hands-Free Operation

Post by neroroxxx »

Hi All! my name is Nero, I'm a guitarist playing in cover bands for the past 8 years or so. As a musician my main focus has always been to have great sound at gigs, I didn't pay attention at the importance of lighting until lately and now I've started investing in lighting.

I've tried other DMX software but so far I like ShowXpress the most because of the features like creating pages, macros, solo buttons within pages and momentary buttons.

The one thing all the apps i've tried have in common is the fact that they either need somebody dedicated to controlling it unless you are doing a timeline which in a live band situation is not always possible. MIDI itself adds a lot and with a MIDI footcontroller I'm able to assign commands to macros and I can easily have a button for the intro, verse, pre-chorus, chorus, guitar solo, break and outtro of a song, BUT that requires 7 MIDI buttons each assigned to the respective Macro, If I wanted to do that for a show with 60 songs I'll be looking at a few hundred commands which means i would have to switch from bank to bank to control the entire show.

All of the above could easily be condensed to 4 buttons:

Previous Page
Next Page
Previous Macro/Scene
Next Macro/Scene

With Previous/Next buttons assigned to MIDI now I can organize my pages so i can go from one to the other one, as soon as you hit next Page it will move on to the fist Macro/Scene of that page which could be a blackout or a scene with my lights dimmed.

A set up like that would only work on a page with solo buttons but I think it would make hands free operation a reality for musicians who are playing an instrument and can't stop playing to click on a button no the screen.