step saving

create scenes with steps

step saving

Postby Spazerflitz » 23 August 2015, 12:11

Excuse me if this is posted elsewhere. I've been searching the forum to locate a similar question.

Good morning and thank you to whomever replies.

OK, I am new to ShowXpress and DMX. I've been playing with the software and hardware for a few days. I love it other than this which I can quite grasp just yet.

When I save a step, it seems to save every thing done to get to the point of which I'd like to save. Example. I only have 2 COLORstrips and 1 SWARM fx5. Trying to make 1 step all blue flashing scene/step. When I save it, the flashing colorstirps seems to save what it took for me to locate the speed of the flash I was looking for. As in the COLORstrips will flash from slow to fast other than right from the point I clicked save. It's like they build speed other than just flashing at the speed of which I saved it.
Spazerflitz

Re: step saving

Postby rockinmo816 » 24 August 2015, 16:48

Hey,

I am a little confused with what your issue is, but by default, I believe there are two steps generated for every scene. So you have a starting point, and then an end point (2 steps). The scene will play those two steps over and over again with the allotted time set with each step.

To create a scene with just one step, delete step #2 and just configure step 1. Create a new scene to wipe out all changes for any other fixtures so you don't have unexpected behavior. Delete step #2. Highlight step #1. Find the fixture you want to edit and set the color, simmer, shutter, etc to exactly what you want. Now save this scene. When you recall this scene using a LIVE button, you should get the exact same effect as you did when building it in the editor.