scary dmx fixture failures

post here other topics

scary dmx fixture failures

Postby drphoto » 13 August 2014, 05:58

This past weekend we had a important show. About 30 minutes before start of first set one of the lights (a venue thinpar, which is a7 ch rgb wash light, and comprise most of my system) started behaving erratically. I start checking dmx addressing, then channel settings, replacing dmx cables, then suddenly everything downstream of this lights just goes haywire. Everything is flashing randomly and I have no control what so ever. It turns out that quite by accident I find one fixture that has a bad dmx output socket (broken solder joint) I'm pretty new to DMX lighting in general but it seems pretty scary that with using a serial connection, if one unit fails it effects everything down the line. Seems like a bad design concept.

Have any of you had this issue? how do you deal with it? Gear will fail, especially these fairly cheap DJ fixtues. Do you carry spares for everything? Can lights be disabled in software?

I finally got everything working with about a minute to spare. I had to position the bad light 'just so' as to keep the connection. It was hard to run the show after that as I was so stressed.nono

BTW: no software issues, V7 and midpipe seems to play nice and all is well on that front.
drphoto

Re: scary dmx fixture failures

Postby support » 13 August 2014, 07:29

We are not pro on gigs, but our answer is:
- yes all fixtures are on same dmx line, in serial
- if one fixture corrupts the dmx line, then all light will not work anymore
- it is not possible to fix that from the software, because the dmx line is out of service
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur

Postby Lighter007 » 14 August 2014, 14:30

Maybe 5 Pin DMX Connections can help..? I actually don't know what 4th and 5th Pin are for.. :oops:

But I've never have heard of this problem before. In such a situation I would think its because of a broken cable..