How to change the beam ?

graphic representation in 3 dimensions

How to change the beam ?

Postby BurnTHalO » 26 November 2010, 01:03

I've been a musician for a long time and I started playing with some DMX lighting. I litterally know nothing, but I thought it would be fun to try to just create a show with the 3D viewer. I've gotten lights into the 3D View, and am able to change colorings, strobing, etc. The one thing I can't figure out is how to change the beam. It seems no matter what I do, any smart light I select does not project a beam out to the floor/wall (it just glows the color I have selected, or strobes depending on what I have done). Like I said, extremely new to any sort of lighting so I'm sure this is something really basic (maybe i just haven't selected a smart light that does such things), but any help would be great. For example on what I would like to play with, in the video on setup shows (under more info), I'd like to get something like the end of the video going (however I don't have a light to input, I'm just looking to play with any of the preloaded lights).
BurnTHalO

Re: Looking for help for extreme beginner

Postby tomrbland » 26 November 2010, 02:25

So you have a fixture in 3D view?

It projects a spot of light on the the floor but it does not show a beam?

If I have understood this correctly then please try the following:
Right click in 3D view,
Select 3D settings,
in the section "Beam Rendering" make sure the two sliders "Beam Intensity" and "Length" are at about half way.

If you couldn't get even a single spot of light in 3D view then check that the 3D view button is active in builder. the button I press at 8:52 on this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A90qIfMxDWU (which you can also find on this page: http://www.sweetlight-controller.com/english/info.html

If that didn't help please let me know.
tomrbland

Re: How to change the beam ? [moved]

Postby BurnTHalO » 27 November 2010, 00:02